Toyota Tacoma Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ive been experiencing a strong vibration in my truck for the last few weeks now. It is not very noticable in first or second gear, but in third gear the vibration suddenly gets stronger around 2500 rpm, smoothes out a bit, and then gets even worse after shifting into 4th gear(2000 rpm). It is by far the worst while under moderate or light throttle load in 3rd, 4th and 5th gear. If you let off the throttle, the vibration seems to stop, then you put your foot into the throttle and its even worse. I'm no mechanic, but I'm guessing that it is something in the driveline. It had U-joints inspected at the mechanics and he said the U-joints were fine, even though i'm not quite convinced. Rear end maybe? What about a worn ball joint? Any ideas or suggestions would be great.

·
Registered
11,619 Posts
How about speed? How fast are you going when the vibration occurs? Does the vibration happen at 25 MPH in 3rd gear and 50 MPH in 3rd gear?

Do you have any suspension or steering modifications done?

When did this start? What changes did you make to your vehicle around that time?

Are your tires balanced?

·
Mambeau / Admin
48,246 Posts
(1) Welcome to CT! ... :waytogo:

(2) Can you localize the main vibration(s) (front / back / below / wheels), or is it 'everything all at once'?

I agree with wanting to get more info in response to the previously-posted questions ...

At first glance, I find myself fixating on the apparent facts that (a) it seems to be related to speed (rather than rpm's) and (b) it seems to be worst when the drivetrain is 'under load' ...

Two other off-the-wall theories (based on prior incidents on other vehicles) ...