Toyota Tacoma Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone,

I am fairly new to the taco community and looking to get started on this 1996 Tacoma 2wd I picked up a few months ago. Originally it was going to be for my son, but I learned to drive on an 89 t100 and I have fallen in love with it. It has seen better days on mileage and maintenance and wondering if anyone can shoot me recommendations.

The front suspension is rough as it has almost 300k on it and looking for some rebuild, refresh to just knock out the entire front end left and right. However, in doing so I want to lower it properly add some handling improvements and replace the shocks.

The rear suspension is sagging on the driver's side and pretty sure it's a leaf spring that has taken a poop. Again recommendation for improvements and replacement for shocks, leaf springs and to lower it all together.

I have been looking at Belltech but there is no like complete kit that I can find.

Like every vehicle I own this truck will end up with crazy engine mods and fast as can be at some point lol.

· Mambeau / Admin
48,299 Posts
Let's start with what you're wanting to accomplish ... How low do you want to take the Taco, and how drive-able (toss-able; tight-handling) do you want the lowered version to be?

· Registered
1 Posts
Hey Dereck, I have had a 1996 2wd Tacoma for years. I have a 3" body lift and 3" Suspension lift. I used Fabtech suspension. Another company I would recommend getting items through is LC Engineering, I have added full flow exhaust (including headers) and a cold air intake kit. Good luck with your build. [/QUOTE
Hey Dereck, I have had a 1996 2wd Tacoma for years. I have a 3" body lift and 3" Suspension lift. I used Fabtech suspension. Another company I would recommend getting items through is LC Engineering, I have added full flow exhaust (including headers) and a cold air intake kit. Good luck with your build.