Toyota Tacoma Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys. I've been floating around the forum for a couple months and I have a question that doesn't see to be clearly answered by anyone -directly.

This is for the S-dad mod (leaf spring change-out) to drop a couple inches in the rear. I have an '03 standard cab, what springs will work for the s-dad drop? Are the only possible options part #s 48220-04130(left) and 48210-04330(right)?

I also found that the Dorman 929-401 replacement spring is supposed to match the part # 48220-04130, but Dorman doesn't seem to make a replacement for 48210-04330. I've sent them an email asking for an explanation and I am awaiting their response.

I think my biggest concern comes from this pdf that I've attached. it lists a lot of various part #s for 4x4 leafs and I'm wondering how this applies to the s-dad mod.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: The attachment rules are a bit restrictive and I have no way of uploading said pdf file at this moment. Sorry.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Also, as since I can't post links yet, I found generalspringkc _ com using the search on this forum and I'm wondering if they are a viable option too. Thanks.

·
Registered
9,300 Posts
S-Dad mod consists of using Toyota 6 lug leafs and removing the leaf below the main leaf, and re using the 5 lug overload. 6 lug leafs are side specific unlike 5 lug leafs. For your 03, you'd look for stock 6 lug leafs from a 98-04 truck.

·
ADMlNAHATER
8,720 Posts
S-Dad just ran stock 4x4 leafs.. all leafs intact.. but with blocks.. (S-Dad mod)
www.customtacos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30464

I did the "modded S-Dad" or (S-Dad Variant) as Enola modded the header..
leaf removed and mini's original overload swapped over..
www.customtacos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=91576

Just find some good used leafs..
Aftermarkets mite not have the same rates and ride higher than desired..