Toyota Tacoma Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I have seen alot of threads with a similar issue but cant seem to find one with the answer. Just got my buddys 95 Taco, and since i met him its had this random "skip". I dont want to call it a misfire because it dosn't act like its just one cylinder, more like the whole ignition sytem hiccups. He had been chasing this thing for like two years, replaced plugs, wires, rotor, cap, coil, everything but the dizzy itself. No change. I always do my own work unless its way out of my scope. I'm an aircraft mechanic and have been wrenching on stuff since i could walk (thanks dad) so im pretty competant. The last thing i want to do is take it to some shop so some guy can charge me loads of cash to go over everything i already did. SO, any ideas? Thank you!!

·
Mambeau / Admin
47,881 Posts
Have you checked for a bad connection or short inside the distributor itself? The majority of pesky distributor problems I've dealt with usually end up being a subtle electrical fault within the distributor unit.

·
Waxed to Perfection
5,658 Posts
From the positive battery cable, you will see a smaller additional wire that goes to the relay box mounted on the inner fender. Check that wire for corrosion, in fact just replace it. Probably way over due. This small wire feeds electricity to all of the relays including the fuel pump relay and other "needed" components for runnabilty.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have not fully dissected the diz yet Enola, but i was thinking that would be next. Glassdoc, as it happens i noticed the other day the wire you speak of was a bit loose....That will be first in the morning. I love this truck so i want to resolve this thing. Its like a ships wheel for a belt-buckle, it's drivin' me nuts!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·