Toyota Tacoma Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well spent all day sanding preping and painting my dash and it looks like CRAP....I mean I sanded and sanded starting with 80 grit to 220 grit to 320 grit to wat i thought was a smooth surface well I applited 2 coats of promer/sealer looked good I thought make this is gonan turn out great....sparyed the first coat real light well aboutt he 3rd coat of paint she looked terrible you can see sanding trenches and I duno looked like thousands upon thousands of particals all over the place looks terrible.....I dunno wat to do I have did all I know to do i'll post some pic up little later

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
alright updated profile...........well I am kinda new to the whole thing and I just wanted to start wht my interior modding....plus I dont know of a good body shop around that does interiors or I would paid to have it done.

·
YEP... I'MMA DOUCH3
10,933 Posts
Paint the dash is fine... but why 80 grit... you should have stay with 220 and finished with 800...

·
BOOSTED
2,069 Posts
get those wet sanding primers the fill the holes quite well. but yeah the real way to do it is to have someone glass it over and then paint. but it should look good if you bondo or putty all the scratches and then paint. just gotta redo the proccess.

·
BOOSTED
2,069 Posts
you can do it that way or try and have someone glass it for you. or you might have to go the route of trying to body work the dash which is the same as doing if you body work your exterior

·
Registered
14,486 Posts
if you are going to use bondo take some 80 grit to it again.. the bondo needs somethign to stick to.. personally if it was me i'd just take my time with sme 1K grit and some filler primer and sand the primer with 1K grit and take your tiem painting or have a pro paint it.. but just dont cheap out on the prep man.. :waytogo: