Toyota Tacoma Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys i just got a 4x4 crew cab 2001 tacoma yesterday...its beautiful. I want to lift it however i need something i can do myself and i was hoping for something i could add onto in the future. After readying the sticky note about suspension i was thinking new rear struts and shackles..possibly add a leafs to and front coil overs. I dont want something that will perform better offroad but i dont like the idea of a bodylift because it can cause damage. I am looking to lift my truck a decent amount...maybe 4-6 inchs but i dont have the money for a full kit right now so i figured i could start with the other stuff im gonna need and add on later. Im looking to spend about a grand on everything. Help me out guys im new to this stuff. Thanks.

·
Registered
4,969 Posts
Only way to get the 4-6 inches of lift you are wanting is with a spacer and bodylift combo. Since you already said no no to the bodylift....I dont know what to tell you. Lifting a truck properly cost money. Do it right the first time or dont do it at all. Remember tires and wheels as well. Save you $$$ and do lots of research on CT. Good luck

Oh yeah....welcome

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info man, right now im looking at...coilovers, rear shackles and leaf pack and a diff drop. I dont like that the "OME" sprigs can sag over time or i might try them out. I dont know just trying to get some opinions and recommendations right now.

·
Premium Member
9,445 Posts
dont forget too that a bigger lift will want bigger tires which will want regearing... more $$$ to shell out...