Toyota Tacoma Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wheel Automotive parking light Tire Car Vehicle

so i have this 01 tacoma with an all stock diff and i wanted to know what are some ways to add a e locker in this thing? i know its possible as ive seen it first hand with a truck pretty much exactly like mines. but i just dont know how they did it. can i just swap third members (<- i doubt it) or do i need the whole rear end? also what parts are even need to do this job would be nice to know? (im still new to all this stuff lol)

·
Mambeau / Admin
48,232 Posts
(1) Welcome to CT!

(2) Let's start with some basics ... What are you wanting to accomplish by adding a locker (of any type)? How do you intend to use this Taco?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
(1) Welcome to CT!

(2) Let's start with some basics ... What are you wanting to accomplish by adding a locker (of any type)? How do you intend to use this Taco?
well basically i dont wanna blow my rear end cause i like to burnout.. alot. i like to have fun in this truck and a locker would really give me the action i want from this thing. it would eliminate some of the worries i have. atleast i think. was thinking about just welding the diff i have now or buying a detroit locker. lot of my friends have the detroit locker and their trucks can boogie lol. money is also a struggle cause im only 16 with an ok job lol

·
Registered
97 2.4l extra cab manual trans #🌮⏳
2,198 Posts
I have seen some things around here for posi units and whatnot. Lots depend on your budget. I would be personally looking for a clutch or gear type posi and not a locker

·
Registered
3,821 Posts