Turn a 2RZ into a 3RZ? - Page 3 - Toyota Tacoma Forum
User Tag List

 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 28 (permalink) Old 09-27-2011, 09:21 AM
Grand Tacoholic
 
Speed Freek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vista, Ca/Lake Havasu, Az.
Posts: 6,923
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Re: Turn a 2RZ into a 3RZ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by auto authority View Post
dont forget, pin height and rod lenght change. the 3RZ block is taller.
also the 3RZ crank is a forged steel crank vs the 2RZ is a cast crank, making the 3RZ a stronger crank. i would suggest use the complete 3RZ block and remove the balance shafts.
/\ /\ /\ /\ Exactly... LCE has balance shaft removal kits...
Speed Freek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 28 (permalink) Old 09-27-2011, 09:42 AM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: Turn a 2RZ into a 3RZ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed Freek View Post
/\ /\ /\ /\ Exactly... LCE has balance shaft removal kits...


So just so I am 100% clear. I can run a 2rz head on a 3rz block correct?
Also, with a balance shaft delete, how much will vibration increase?

96 Tacoma- Reg cab Base 2rz 5spd. 1.5" Day Star Coil spacer, 15" jeep wheels, SR5 gauge cluster and factory clock, Shifter console w/ cup holders.
COMAtized99 is offline  
post #23 of 28 (permalink) Old 09-27-2011, 12:16 PM
Tacoholic
 
671taco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Woodlands/671
Posts: 2,188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Re: Turn a 2RZ into a 3RZ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by COMAtized99 View Post
So just so I am 100% clear. I can run a 2rz head on a 3rz block correct?
Also, with a balance shaft delete, how much will vibration increase?
2rz and 3rz motors use the same head. The only difference is the longer stoke on the 3rz motors. Just take note that 3rz motors are more prone to rod failure when boosted!


BOOSTED 2RZ @ 434hp 368tq @ 18PSI/ OEF 10-11
671taco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 28 (permalink) Old 09-27-2011, 12:31 PM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: Turn a 2RZ into a 3RZ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 671taco View Post
2rz and 3rz motors use the same head. The only difference is the longer stoke on the 3rz motors. Just take note that 3rz motors are more prone to rod failure when boosted!

Awsome! Thank you! I just wanted to be 1000000% sure. I dont plan on boosting my motor. This is my DD, and I have a heavy enough foot.

96 Tacoma- Reg cab Base 2rz 5spd. 1.5" Day Star Coil spacer, 15" jeep wheels, SR5 gauge cluster and factory clock, Shifter console w/ cup holders.
COMAtized99 is offline  
post #25 of 28 (permalink) Old 09-27-2011, 08:53 PM
Tacoholic
 
turbotacoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lexington SC
Posts: 1,601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: Turn a 2RZ into a 3RZ?

Yeah, the head is exactly the same on the 2rz and 3rz. The 3rz block is taller by 3/4". If you look at the dipstick tube either engine you will see 2 different bolt holes. One is used on the 3rz, and the other on the 2rz. The block height differs by the distance between the centerline of both holes. The blocks are different and the crank, rods, and pistons are in no way interchangeable between engines. Don't even try. I have done major research on this subject.

Taco is back on the road!! stock 3rz powered now.
turbotacoman is offline  
post #26 of 28 (permalink) Old 09-28-2011, 06:30 AM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: Turn a 2RZ into a 3RZ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbotacoman View Post
Yeah, the head is exactly the same on the 2rz and 3rz. The 3rz block is taller by 3/4". If you look at the dipstick tube either engine you will see 2 different bolt holes. One is used on the 3rz, and the other on the 2rz. The block height differs by the distance between the centerline of both holes. The blocks are different and the crank, rods, and pistons are in no way interchangeable between engines. Don't even try. I have done major research on this subject.

Maybe you can answer another question for me. I plan to build a 3rz to replace my 2rz. I am going to reuse my current 2rz head. That means 2rz intake, TB, Injectors, cams... Everything. I figure I will need a 3rz timing set.

1. Are the cams the same between the motors? will there be any special parts I need to run a 3rz timing set on 2rz cams?

2. Will my ECU throw a code now that there is going to be more air in the motor? (longer stroke pulls in more air)

3. Will the ECU be able to feed enough fuel to the engine threw 2rz injectors.


Maybe im over thinking this, I dont mind sourcing a 3rz computer and injectors, but would rather save the money.

96 Tacoma- Reg cab Base 2rz 5spd. 1.5" Day Star Coil spacer, 15" jeep wheels, SR5 gauge cluster and factory clock, Shifter console w/ cup holders.
COMAtized99 is offline  
post #27 of 28 (permalink) Old 09-28-2011, 09:11 AM
Tacoholic
 
turbotacoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lexington SC
Posts: 1,601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: Turn a 2RZ into a 3RZ?

My truck came with a 2rz, and currently has a stock 3rz with 2rz injectors and a 2rz ecu. No codes or anything. Runs great.

The cams are identical between engines. the timming set should be all you need.
RyanV likes this.

Taco is back on the road!! stock 3rz powered now.
turbotacoman is offline  
post #28 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
So I can transfer all the external parts from my 2rz on to my 3rz with out any issues??
SCTACO96 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Tacoma Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome