Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one? - Toyota Tacoma Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Enthusiast
 
HaVoCX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Idaho, Boise
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one?

So, I'm trying to add a cam position sensor to my 1996 3rz that did not come with one stock. Apparently trucks with distributors had no factory installed cam position sensor in the head. The 'base/mount' for the sensor is still there, just not drilled out..

Today I called a machine shop that was capable. I also ordered a cam sensor from a 98 3rz. But before i get down to it...
Anybody done this before? Any idea on specs;How close the cam sensor needs to be to the cam lobe? Does it require drilling all the way through? Anything i should know in general?

BTW-The reason im doin this to get my sequential firing going with my AEM Pencil coils. Other wise, with no cam sensor, i would have to batch fire which is not what im looking for.

Thanks!
HaVoCX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 02:41 PM
Mambeau / Admin
 
Enola Gaia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Off the map
Posts: 47,341
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Re: Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one

I'm confused ...

You DO have a camshaft position sensor - it's built into the distributor.

Are you saying the signal from the stock camshaft position sensor doesn't work for your AEM application?

"If i saw a old dude with what appeared to be a cat over his mouth driving faster than me I'd stop driving fast." - Firdaddy
Line-X, ARE, Recaro, Team Voodoo, Husky, Lund, Optima, OMP, Aesthetic Finishers Inc.,Michelin
Enola Gaia is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
Enthusiast
 
HaVoCX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Idaho, Boise
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Re: Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one

There is no camshaft position sensor in the distributor to my understanding.but theres one on the side of the head if you have a 97 or up tacoma when they switched to coil packs.
See pics,lets see if they work lol



Attached Images
File Type: jpg camsensor.jpg (41.4 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 1203111228.jpg (25.0 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg cylinderhead-1.jpg (20.8 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by Enola Gaia; 04-09-2013 at 04:43 PM.
HaVoCX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 03:32 PM Thread Starter
Enthusiast
 
HaVoCX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Idaho, Boise
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Re: Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enola Gaia View Post
I'm confused ...

You DO have a camshaft position sensor - it's built into the distributor.

Are you saying the signal from the stock camshaft position sensor doesn't work for your AEM application?

If you think that I can utilize my existing camshaft sensor, that is supposedly integrated in my distributor, then yeah ill use it! I was just going to take off the distributor, 'plug' it off, and drill in a new cam sensor.

I wonder how i would just use the camshaft position sensor that is integrated into the distributor tho? is this possible?? can i remove the distributor and put the camshaft position sensor in its place?

Thanks for the input
HaVoCX is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 04:39 PM
Mambeau / Admin
 
Enola Gaia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Off the map
Posts: 47,341
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Re: Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one

I'm still trying to figure out what's what ...

Here (attached) is the 1995.5 / 1996 diagnostic section for code P0340 (camshaft position sensor circuit). This explains how the camshaft position signal is generated.

The camshaft position widget is most often referred to as the 'signal generator' within the distributor.

This is a totally separate widget from the crankshaft position sensor.

It also provides a sketch of the overall wiring arrangement.

The camshaft signal is also referred to as the G signal, because it's connected to the ECM at the G terminals.

The NE terminals and the NE signal are for crankshaft position.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf P0340-CamshftPosSensor.pdf (101.1 KB, 15 views)

"If i saw a old dude with what appeared to be a cat over his mouth driving faster than me I'd stop driving fast." - Firdaddy
Line-X, ARE, Recaro, Team Voodoo, Husky, Lund, Optima, OMP, Aesthetic Finishers Inc.,Michelin
Enola Gaia is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 04:42 PM
Mambeau / Admin
 
Enola Gaia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Off the map
Posts: 47,341
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Re: Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one

Here (attached) is a 1995.5 / 1996 distributor components diagram. The signal generator / pickup coil is the gadget that generates the camshaft position signal.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg DistroParts-955.jpg (27.9 KB, 78 views)

"If i saw a old dude with what appeared to be a cat over his mouth driving faster than me I'd stop driving fast." - Firdaddy
Line-X, ARE, Recaro, Team Voodoo, Husky, Lund, Optima, OMP, Aesthetic Finishers Inc.,Michelin
Enola Gaia is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
Enthusiast
 
HaVoCX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Idaho, Boise
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Re: Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one

So according to the diagrams on that PDF. Terminals 3 & 4 are for the Camshaft position sensor... SO i could just elimnate the distributor cap and just keep the "dust cover" on that houses the signal plate and pickup coil. Very nice. very nice indeed.

You are right tho Enola, & i think i could piggyback off terminals 3 & 4 from the distributor connector to get my camshaft position sensor. SHWEET!

Do you see any problems arising/anything else i need from using this in conjunction with my AEM CDI pencil coils an AEM 4-channel coil driver?

Thanks for droppin the knowledge
HaVoCX is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 06:38 PM
Mambeau / Admin
 
Enola Gaia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Off the map
Posts: 47,341
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Re: Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one

I don't know whether or how this might work ...

Clues, please ...

I have no idea what kind of cam position signal the AEM equipment is expecting. Did they give you any instructions or spec's on cam position signal? Did they recommend installing a separate sensor?

"If i saw a old dude with what appeared to be a cat over his mouth driving faster than me I'd stop driving fast." - Firdaddy
Line-X, ARE, Recaro, Team Voodoo, Husky, Lund, Optima, OMP, Aesthetic Finishers Inc.,Michelin
Enola Gaia is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 06:39 PM
Mambeau / Admin
 
Enola Gaia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Off the map
Posts: 47,341
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Re: Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaVoCX View Post
So according to the diagrams on that PDF. Terminals 3 & 4 are for the Camshaft position sensor...
The wire color should be yellow coming off terminal 4, and light blue coming off terminal 3.

"If i saw a old dude with what appeared to be a cat over his mouth driving faster than me I'd stop driving fast." - Firdaddy
Line-X, ARE, Recaro, Team Voodoo, Husky, Lund, Optima, OMP, Aesthetic Finishers Inc.,Michelin
Enola Gaia is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
Enthusiast
 
HaVoCX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Idaho, Boise
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Re: Input on installing a cam position sensor on a 1996 3RZ that didn't come with one

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enola Gaia View Post
I don't know whether or how this might work ...

Clues, please ...

I have no idea what kind of cam position signal the AEM equipment is expecting. Did they give you any instructions or spec's on cam position signal? Did they recommend installing a separate sensor?
ill be using the AEM ignition setup (pencil coils and driver) with my Haltech sprint 500.

Im basically doing a coil conversion from the stock dizzy setup. I am trying to make sure i have everything i need. The AEM instructions do not require a spec sensors. I thought i had to install an extra sensor because i didnt think i had a camshaft position sensor.
HaVoCX is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Tacoma Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
turbo 2rz cam position sensor BTAcoma Performance 4 01-04-2012 06:46 AM
CAM Position Sensor ? xtremez Performance 5 06-12-2010 07:58 PM
98 5vz cam position sensor Fatalaczach Wanted 0 03-28-2010 06:57 PM
3rz crank position sensor diagnosis TACO420 Interior/Audio/Electronics 3 10-23-2006 01:49 PM
3rz crank position sensor diagnosis TACO420 Interior/Audio/Electronics 0 10-23-2006 01:35 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome