oxygen sensor bypass? - CustomTacos.com Forum
User Tag List

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 12-01-2003, 01:59 PM
Tacoholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
oxygen sensor bypass?

ok i am wanting to ditch my cat there for i need something that can allow me to bypass the 2nd o2 sensor so i dont have a check engine light on 24-7 anyone know of something that would work or know anyone selling something that can do this?
Thanks
Rayme Traub
teamrj83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 12-01-2003, 03:53 PM
[]D [] []D
 
AFP520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 22,696
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Re: oxygen sensor bypass?

gadget sells o2 simulators.. they are like 50 bux...
AFP520 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 12-01-2003, 03:54 PM
Tacoholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Re: oxygen sensor bypass?

how can i get ahold of gadget? or is that his name on here and i can just pm him? cause i beleave that is exactly what i am looking for.
teamrj83 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 12-01-2003, 04:41 PM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: oxygen sensor bypass?

i have heard that some high flow cats or having no cat causes the engine to use up way more fuel than normal... does gadget's simulator fix that? also is it a good idea to remove the cat on a stock V6 and replace it with a simulator (will i gain or lose power)?

lata...dalton
bigd9247 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 12-01-2003, 05:42 PM
[]D [] []D
 
AFP520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 22,696
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Re: oxygen sensor bypass?

the simulator will ONLY make the ecu think the rear o2 is still there.. he produced it cuz alot of people, 1) remove the cat yes.. 2) do a test pipe from the catback which does not have a flange for the o2 sensor... u can get a hold of him by email gadget@gadgetonline.com

www.gadgetonline.com
AFP520 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 12-01-2003, 07:28 PM
Tacoholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Re: oxygen sensor bypass?

yea like he said tho about the what if about removing the cat, will i get a increase in gas mileage? also how much power increase should i expect from adding a pacesetter header, removing the cat and running strait pipe all the way from the header to a magnaflow muffler at the rear all using 2.25" pipe?
Thanks
Rayme Traub
teamrj83 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 12-01-2003, 08:29 PM
[]D [] []D
 
AFP520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 22,696
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Re: oxygen sensor bypass?

well if you have more flow thats a good thing.. but u still want backpressure... i dont think ull see much increase in mpg but.. thats me.. i boost it alot so.. couldnt tell ya what mpg is like w/o a cat... someone will chime in here
AFP520 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rednekkz R\'us MS.
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: oxygen sensor bypass?

Quote:
i have heard that some high flow cats or having no cat causes the engine to use up way more fuel than normal... does gadget's simulator fix that? also is it a good idea to remove the cat on a stock V6 and replace it with a simulator (will i gain or lose power)?

lata...dalton

If I'm not mistaken the reason it would use more fuel would be because your truck would run rich due to the exhaust flowing too freely and not properly heating the O2 sensor , Gadgets gadget should remedy that problem.
RATTL3R is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the CustomTacos.com Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome