Toyota Tacoma Forum banner

Low down & dirty 3RZ balance shaft removal questions

14K views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  Mr. Lumberg 
#1 ·
Alright, this may be a newb question to some, but I AM a newb when it comes to balance shafts. I get their purpose, & that they can have bearing issues. This is a swap into an offroad only rig, & a few extra harmonic vibes mean nothing to me.

My question: How many of you are getting away with simply cutting, or removing the chain? No kit, quick & easy? Are there potential issues with a chain tensioner doing this? (my biggest worry, & can't seem to find much info on the balance chain system)

I've searched all over, & only find the subject briefly visited, or referring to LCE's kit. I'm not AGAINST the kit, I'd just like to wait to do it until I get into the engine a little further later on.If it's a quick, open up, have a looksy, remove a chain, let the few pounds of rotating mass turn into a few pounds of static mass, & move on kinda thing, I'll probably have that looksy. :D

Any real experience with this?

#2 ·
You could probably get away with it, at least for a while, but remember that anything that increases the vibrations of your engine will decrease its longevity. How much, I can't really say, but notice how LCE recommends the kit for racing only... Increasing its vibration will put more stress on mounts and internal components and will in general shake things loose more quickly. I build turbines for a living, and we supply what is called a Campbell Diagram to our clients that specify "do not dwell" zones, speed ranges where resonances can cause the complete failure of a turbine or compressor wheel if they're operated in for any length of time; resonances can and do cause real damage. That being said, one of the guys on this thread http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/4-cylinder/64499-3rz-balance-shaft-delete.html did it, but it doesn't sound like his ride was in the best of shape to begin with.

#3 ·