Toyota Tacoma Forum banner

08 TRD offroad taco clutch issue...

1K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  melon16 
#1 ·
So I bought my Canadian taco back in March and have put about 10 000 km on it so far....

08 access cab 4.0L 6spd 4x4 TRD Offroad Package

I've pulled 2 trailers with this truck with no problems---an open 2 snowmobile aluminum trailer (less than 2000lbs)
--and a 14ft aluminum boat trailer (less than 1300lbs)

after a day of fishing and no truck problems whatsoever including at the boat launch, I unhooked the trailer and tried to drive home.....

I shifted through the gears no problem until 4th...there was nothing there at all.

my friends and I pushed the truck back to my friend's place and called the tow truck.

My toyota dealership told me the clutch was gone and that it wasn't under warrenty....

so I raised hell and now all of a sudden its covered....

I have been driving stick for over 5 years with no problems...everything from 60's musclecars to dodge diesels to an assortment of volkswagens....

any of this sound right to you guys?

at around 2500km i complained to my dealership about the shifts not being very positive--slight grinding with the clutch to the floor going into 3rd---but if I was extremely careful getting the shifter exactly centered, I could stop it from grinding.

The dealership said it was my driving, but 2 of their mechanics, my girlfriend, and my father all experienced the same thing. anyways I've just been shifting cautiously since then (helps with gas mileage too haha)

anyways the point is I heard of some sort of clutch chatter issue on the 05-07 tacos....i never felt any chatter but could this be a similar problem? anybody else have any of these problems?

See less See more
#5 ·